This site uses cookies to store information on your computer Please review our cookie policy


Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years curriculum at St George's CE Primary School is designed to provide a broad and balanced education that meets the needs of all pupils within our care.  Whilst in Reception the children are working within the Foundation Stage and follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.


We recognise that children come into our setting with different experiences from others in their learning and play.  It is the role of our setting to help children experience the awe and wonder of the world in which they live. All staff work hard to ensure that the learning opportunities provided widen children’s knowledge and understanding of the world, setting ambitious expectations for all children.

We believe that children learn best in early years through play and exploration. Children are encouraged to join in activities, to be independent and to make choices. We provide stimulating and well-resourced learning spaces, where provision is carefully planned to challenge, motivate and develop children’s skills within the 7 areas of learning.

We know children who feel positive, engaged and involved will learn better.  Staff at St George's CE Primary School build positive relationships with all children, parents and carers.  With the support of parents, we provide a strong base for helping children develop in confidence and independence.

Throughout the Early Years Foundation Stage each child’s development will be observed, assessed and monitored by the adults. These assessments will be made in relation to the ‘Development Matters’ statements in the EYFS framework.

This curriculum has four key themes and principles. These are:

A Unique Child – every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments – children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Learning and Development – children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Within the Foundation Stage curriculum there are seven areas of learning .  The seven areas of learning are:

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development –

Making relationships, Self-confidence and self- awareness, Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development –

Moving and handling, Health and self-care

Communication and Language –

Listening and attention, Understanding, Speaking


Specific Areas

Literacy Reading, Writing

Mathematics Numbers,  Shape, space and measure

Understanding the World People and communities, The World, Technology

Expressive Arts and Design – Exploring and using media and materials, Being imaginative


Through the seven areas of learning, we provide topics that excite and engage children, building on their own interests and developing their experiences of the world around them.


We would love to hear from you!

St George's Church of England Primary School

Coleman Road, Camberwell, London SE57TF

Student Login